Protected Fields
Protected Fields

Protected Fields

All Tags
Feature ExplanationFields
About
Discover how to protect fields from accidental data changes
Grouping Tags
Feature Explanation

About Protected Fields

Visor's Protected Fields give you even more control over your data when combined with sharing and permissions. When a field is protected, that means that nobody can edit itโ€” even those with owner-level access. By protecting your fields, you can be sure that the most important data in your workbook will stay exactly as you left it, no matter whom you share it with.

Highlights

How to protect (and unprotect) a field

Protecting a field is simple. First, click the drop-down arrow in the header row of the field you'd like to protect. Then select "Protect field" from the drop-down menu. To remove field protection, select "Remove field protection" from the same drop-down menu.

Users are able to protect fields when in table & Gantt view. Currently, protected fields are not supported in timeline view.

๐Ÿ’ก
Note: Field Protections apply to all views in a folder. If there is more than one folder in a sheet, your Protected Fields will not apply in other folders.

image

What does field protection prevent a user from doing?

It's helpful to think of field protections as comprised of two parts: restrictions on the field as a whole, and restrictions on the field values.

Field Restrictions

When a field is protected, users will not be able to rename or delete the field from the workbook. However, protected fields can be moved around and re-ordered in table view.

image

Field Value Restrictions

Users cannot paste into a Protected Field, or revert any values in that field to the last sync. The values in a Protected Field cannot be changed on any records within any views within that folder.

If a Protected Field is a drop-down field, users will not be able to do the following:

  • Add dropdown choices
  • Remove dropdown choices
  • Rename dropdown choices
  • Reorder choices
  • Revert choice to last sync
  • Update or remove the formatting of dropdown choices
  • image

If a date field is protected, certain restrictions will apply in the bars area of Gantt view. For example, if the Start Date field has been protected, users will not be able to move or drag the tile itself, or drag the left side of the tile to edit the end date date. However, users will still be able to drag the right side of the tile in order to change the End Date field (which, in this example, was not protected).

image

What can users do to a Protected Field?

If a field is protected, users may still do the following (if their access level permits it):

  • Move fields around in the view
  • Set a field as primary label
  • Sort the field
  • Hide the field
  • Comment on values in the field
  • Expand and/or collapse any children records
  • Toggle that field's formatting on and off
  • Create new records with a pre-filled value that matches current filters

Who can enable or disable field protection?

Only workbook owners are able to enable and disable field protection. If there is more than one owner on a workbook, field protection can be disabled by any of the workbook ownersโ€” not just the user who initially enabled it.

๐Ÿ’ก
In order to edit a Protected Field, a workbook owner would have to remove the field's protection before making the edit. If desired, they can re-protect the field after the edit is made.

How can I tell if a field is protected?

If a field has been protected, a shield will appear in that field's header row. The same shield symbol will also appear when selecting protected cells.

If a user attempts to edit a cell in a Protected Field within table view or the grid in Gantt view, a message will appear reminding the user that the field is protected and cannot be edited.

image

๐Ÿ’ก
Users who do not have edit access to the workbook will not see a field's protection status, since they are unable to edit the workbook regardless.

How do protected fields interact with connections?

If a connection field is protected, users will be unable to unlink any items that have been linked, or link new items that are empty. However, users are still able to run imports and create records that are linked.

If the protected field is any type of connected field and it is the field that is used for the name of the connection (in the case of Jira, the summary field) users cannot edit that name either in the summary field or in the connection field.

Even if a connected field is protected, it only prevents users from changing that value for that particular linked issue. It does not prevent users from the following:

  • unlinking that issue (which would cause the field to go empty)
  • linking that issue (which would cause the field to be filled)
  • syncing to a connected app. For example, if you made a change in Jira and synced that change to Visor, Visor would accept that new value, even though the field is protected.

Finally, if a connected field has been protected, users will not be able to delete that connected field, or delete the connection. Users will also be unable to toggle off fields that are protected from the "Edit Connection" modal.

Ready to try this in Visor?

๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿผ
Written by Victoria

Updated this week

image