🔗

Sharing & Permissions

Tags
About

About Sharing & Permissions

Visor was built for easy sharing with team members. From the 3 different Views offered in a Workbook to our commenting feature, we always have your stakeholders in mind. We also know that it can be hard to maintain control over your data when sharing with different collaborators.

That's why Visor offers several unique access levels to make sharing easy and keep your data safe. Users are able to assign different access levels to each stakeholder depending on the level of control they need.

There are currently four different access levels: Viewer, Commenter, Editor, and Owner. For more on the specific capabilities for each access level, see the chart below.

Highlights

Sharing a Workbook with Specific Users

Workbooks can be shared with Users both inside and outside your organization, and each User added can be assigned a different access level.

💡

At this time, all Users with access to a Workbook will be able to see all of the Views and all of the Folders within that Workbook. (If you are interested in sharing only specific Views with specific Users, see this roadmap item we're working on.)

To share a Workbook, begin by clicking the "Share" button in the top right corner. The Workbook Access panel will appear and display all of the Users who currently have access to the Workbook as well as their access levels. To invite a User who is already part of your Workspace but does not currently have access to your Workbook, simply begin typing their name and select from the drop down. If the User you'd like to add is not currently part of your Workspace, type their full email.

💡

When inviting new Users into a Workspace (for example, a client), remember that any new Users will gain access to any Workbooks within that Workspace that have Workspace-wide permissions.

Once the correct email is listed in the invite field, select the access level you'd like to assign. If you need a refresher on the access that each level provides, the selection list briefly explains the differences.

Finally, click Share. Visor will send an email inviting your team member to your Workbook, and their name will appear on the list of Users along with the access level you assigned.

image

Changing a User's Access Levels

We've made it easy for you to change a team member's access level, even if they are are already a collaborator on a Workbook. Simply open the Workbook Access panel by clicking the "Share" button in the top right corner. Find the person whose access you'd like to change, and click their current access level. Select the desired access level from the drop down.

Access level changes will take effect immediately, and do not require the recipient to refresh their page. Changing a User's access level will not trigger an email to that User.

image

Removing a User from Your Workbook

Accidentally added the wrong person to your Workbook? Removing a User from your Workbook is easy. Open the Workbook Access panel by clicking "Share" in the top right corner. Find the User you'd like to remove on the list, and click on their current access level. Select "Remove" from the bottom of the drop down list.

Removing Users' permissions takes effect immediately and does not require the User to refresh their page. Removing a User from a Workbook will not trigger an email to that User.

image

Assigning Workspace-wide Access to a Workbook

You may have a Workbook that you'd like your whole team to have access to. If so, click the "Share" button to open the Workbook Access panel. At the bottom of the panel, you will find the name of your Workspace. Select the level of access you'd like your whole team to have. This action does not trigger an email to your team.

Note: If you previously added an individual User to your Workbook and then later provide access to your whole team, that User will receive the greater of either access level. For example, if a User has Comment access, but you grant your whole team Edit access, that User's access will be promoted to Edit.

💡

Be careful when assigning Workspace-wide permissions. All future Users in this Workspace will also get access to this Workbook.

image

Ready to try this in Visor?

👋🏼

Written by Victoria

Updated this week

image